Luthier Eliakim Boussoir > Products > Hardingfele (Norwegian Violin)

Hardingfele (Norwegian Violin)

La tête du hardingfele

The Hardingfele1 (violin Hardanger2), is the popular instrument of Norway.

It is a pearl inlaid violin, ink-decorated and has four or five strings resonance called sympathetic strings.

The vibrating string length is about 2 cm and smaller than half of a classical violin strings are finer and there are five different rods for twenty rope scordatura.

The most common agreement (which represents approximately 80% of the Norwegian directory) is : la2 – ré3 – la3 – mi4 for melodic strings, and (si2) – ré3 – mi3 – fa#3 – la3 for the sympathetic strings.
The peg of the instrument usually ends with a dragon’s head crowned.

Corps du Hardingfele
The trunk of the instrument has the same dimension as the violin but this only since about 1860 , originally the hardingfele was smaller with a more angular shape and had only two or three strings of resonance.

The Hardingfeles are cut so that a front view of the body of f is almost not visible in side view, the opening of the f up to 10 mm. The legs are acting on two different levels, the lower leg of f falls within the table.

The first mention dates back to 1646 lexicographical.
The oldest hardingfele bears the signature « Ole Jonsen Jaastad 1651 ». The date and signature were long disputed , but recent research (carbone 14, dendrochronology: tree-ring analysis) consistent well with the instrument.

« The musical instrument associated with the directory is considered as the most « authentic » Norwegian musical heritage which is also the most vital expression ». For the ethnomusicologist , this music , mostly composed of air dance has some fascination while presenting a challenge facing both remarkable mechanisms of tonal order harmonic , formal, and subtle phrases. The hardingfele produces a particularly dense and crisp sound , taking advantage of a dozen scordatura. His playing technique is characterized by a number of metric and rhythmic formulas rarely heard elsewhere. »3

Each year , there are in Norway , a contest : the landskappleik including first place is an international recognition.


1 In Norwegian hardingfele, perhaps female or male.
2 Hardanger is a region of southwestern Norway, where the practice and development of the instrument has spread to become today the national instrument.
3 Reidar Sevåg, « Love and Affection » Acts of international meetings around the instruments sympathetic strings, Limoges 28, November 29, 1992.

Posted in Products

Luthier Eliakim Boussoir > Produits > Hardingfele (Violon Norvègien)

Hardingfele (Violon Norvègien)

La tête du hardingfele

Le Hardingfele1 (violon du Hardanger2), est l’instrument populaire de la Norvège.

C’est un violon incrusté de nacre, décoré à l’encre et qui possède quatre à cinq cordes de résonance appelées cordes sympathiques.

La longueur de corde vibrante est d’environ 2 centimètres et demi plus petite que sur un violon classique, les cordes sont plus fines et il existe cinq tirants de corde différents pour une vingtaine de scordatura.

L’accord le plus répandu (qui représente environ 80 % du répertoire norvégien) est : la2 – ré3 – la3 – mi4 pour les cordes mélodiques, et (si2) – ré3 – mi3 – fa#3 – la3 pour les cordes sympathiques.
Le cheviller de l’instrument se termine généralement par une tête de dragon couronné.

Corps du Hardingfele
Le coffre de l’instrument a la même dimension que celui du violon mais ceci seulement depuis environ 1860, à l’origine l’Hardingfele était plus petit avec une forme plus anguleuse et ne possédait que deux ou trois cordes de résonance.

Les Hardingfeles sont taillées de telle manière que vue de face, le corps d’f n’est presque pas visible, vu de côté, l’ouverture de l’f peut atteindre 10 mm. Les pattes d’ff se trouvent sur deux niveaux différents, la patte d’f inférieur rentre dans la table.

La première mention lexicographique remonte à 1646.
Le plus ancien Hardingfele porte la signature « Ole Jonsen Jaastad 1651 ». La date et la signature furent longtemps contestées mais des recherches récentes (carbone 14, dendrochronologie : analyse des cernes du bois) cohérent bien avec l’instrument.

« On considère le répertoire musical associé à l’instrument comme étant le plus « authentique » du patrimoine musical norvégien dont il est également l’expression la plus vitale ». Pour l’éthnomusicologue, cette musique, pour la plupart constituée d’air de danse, exerce une fascination certaine tout en présentant un défi, face à tant de remarquables mécanismes de l’ordre tonal, harmonique, formel, et de phrases subtils. L’Hardingfele produit un son particulièrement dense et vif, tirant avantage d’une bonne douzaine de scordatura. Sa technique de jeu se caractérise par un certain nombre de formules métriques et rythmiques rarement entendues ailleurs. »3

Chaque année, il existe en Norvège, un concours : le landskappleik dont la première place est une reconnaissance internationale.


1 En norvégien, Hardingfele, peut-être de genre féminin ou masculin.
2 Le Hardanger est une région du Sud-ouest de la Norvège où la pratique et l’évolution de l’instrument s’est répandue pour devenir de nos jours l’instrument national.
3 Reidar Sevåg, « Amour et Sympathie » Actes des rencontres internationales autour des instruments à cordes sympathiques, Limoges 28, 29 novembre 1992.

Publié dans Produits